Posted in Senior Year

Review: Claire’s & Ear infection

I have been planning since September 2015 to get my ears pierce, and finally during my Winter Break I got them pierced at Claire’s and now I’m recovering from an ear lobe infection and procedure.
So here is the breakdown:
It has been 4-5 weeks since I pierce my ears and during that short period, I gotten an infection to both my ears. I had my first ear infection on my right ear and it took 2 days for it to heal. Unfortunately my left ear didn’t bear the same results, because it landed me at my school’s clinic for an emergency EAR PROCEDURE. What happened was that at night when I was sleeping half of the stud of my earring broke off and the rest of my earring sank into my left ear lobe.(The two reasons I believe caused the stud to come off was either my relentless sleeping or that the earrings was poorly made. Due to my infected left ear and its’ irritating pain, there might be a chance I keep rubbing my earring against the pillow that the earing eventually broke off. I think I was trying to ease my pain so I was rubbing it to find a comfortable position.) 
Anyhow, when I woke up I didn’t realize that my left earring came off until I went to brush my teeth. That’s when I noticed, and panic because I know from online information that earrings should not be taken out within the 3 month period or else the hole will close up.  I examined more clearly and saw that the back was still on meaning that only the small stud came off. Even so I was panicking because it looked like the front of my ear lobe has been closed up and was bloody.  Better safe then sorry, so I headed straight to campus health clinic.
On the day of this earring incident, I was unable to meet with the doctor because too much drop-ins and not enough time to examine me. The nurse however advised me to bring another pair of earrings for Day 2 appointment in case they might be able to replace the broken earring. Next day came, the doctor checked and was able to pull the backing off. She told me that she is unable to pull the stem of the earring (the needle) out the back or push through the front because it was stuck. She inform me that I will be scheduled another appointment (Day 3) so another doctor can numb my left ear to make an incision enough to pull the earring out. She advised me not to put another earring in my ear, and just let it heal itself.
Doc1-page-002
Day 3 comes! A different doctor is in charge of my ear procedure. This doctor lets me know of the procedure which was to numb my ear and cut around the earring. When she told me that, I was not just nervous but scared. Shoot!!! This doctor was gonna cut me. First she starts me off by having me laid face down on the reclining chair and tilting my head so the back of my left ear is facing her. She gives my ear shots of anesthesia until my ear was so numb I could not feel the needle. Then the procedure begins when I hear “snip snip” and I feel some pain– pain not from cutting, but from her tugging the earring out. The pain is bearable, but since I have low tolerance for pain I started to shiver like a dog.
Finally, she was able to cut it out and let me know the reason why the earring didn’t slide out easily is because the platform of the stud was still there!! She then cleans the back of my ear, and puts a steri strip over the wound; my eyes water and widen as the steri strip burns my wounds. It took about 1 hour for this whole procedure, but mainly it took 30 minutes for the whole ear procedure. It wasn’t that bad!
The doctor prescribed me antibiotics pills to take for the next two weeks and sent me off. The nurse gave me snacks since I was remained shake up and woozy after the procedure.
For the rest of the day, I felt a bit of pain or sting on my ear randomly. Though, I’m grateful I am feeling better today and that my ear infection didn’t lead to something more serious. I will probably wait 6 months before I re pierce, and this time it will be at a piercing and tattoo parlor.
Lesson Learned
Be wary that you have a higher probability of ear infection when you pierce your ear with a gun rather than a needle.
Leave a Reply

